Modern Warfare 2 VS Bad Company 2: A senseless war for senseless people

9 Apr

Perhaps you’ve noticed the tension between Modern Warfare 2 fans and Bad Company 2 fans. This is partially due to Bad Company 2‘s various cracks at Modern Warfare 2‘s expense, but it’s mostly because humans love to compare and contrast and because video game enthusiasts absolutely must have something to loathe. In this case, they can’t see past the similar interface to discern that these two games are very different beasts.

Modern Warfare 2 and Bad Company 2 are a lot alike on the surface, but aside from being entries in the first-person shooter genre, the two don’t share nearly enough similarities to warrant a feud. As far as I’m concerned, there are two elements that define each experience, and the two couldn’t be executed more differently.

There’s a variety of game modes in Modern Warfare 2 and only a handful in Bad Company 2, but even with different win conditions, majority of the former is concerned with repeatedly gunning down your opponents in an arena while the latter focuses on building momentum to destroy enemy bases throughout an expanding map. When I play Modern Warfare 2, I’m focused on getting the more kills and less deaths than everyone else, my teammates included, assuming I’m playing death match, which I almost always am. I don’t care whether my team wins or loses as I’m competing for a personal victory. On the other hand, I’d be crazy not to care about my team’s success in Bad Company 2, though the occasionally ridiculous number of snipers when I’m on offense indicates I may be in the minority.

Neither objective is intrinsically better than the other, so which one I play comes down to the mood I’m in at the time. Do I feel like working together with my team to wipe out bases or protect our own, or do I feel like sharing competing against my teammates for kills? Another question I need to ask is at what pace do I want to play?

Modern Warfare 2 plays at a much more rapid pace than Bad Company 2, which can feel slow and clunky in comparison. Likewise, Modern Warfare 2 can feel fast and twitchy. Each pace matches its game’s objective fairly well, though. Matches in Bad Company are longer and focused on building momentum in larger maps, while Modern Warfare 2‘s matches are quick affairs in relatively smaller arenas designed for players to kill one another over and over.

In both regards, Modern Warfare 2 and Bad Company 2 are polar opposites sharing a similar interface, arsenal, and setting. None of those similarities have any relevance on the actual multiplayer experience of either game, so they shouldn’t be used to praise one while deriding the other. Both are good games with their own flaws and their own appeal. There’s no reason your average FPS fan couldn’t own and enjoy both. If anything, EA did fans a favor by releasing Bad Company 2 four months after Modern Warfare 2 rather than spilling blood over the holidays.

2 Responses to “Modern Warfare 2 VS Bad Company 2: A senseless war for senseless people”

  1. Donncha April 9, 2010 at 8:32 AM #

    I totally agree with you about the differences between the two games. Unfortunately many people moving from MW2 don’t realise they have to play differently to their run and gun or lone wolf sniper play of the previous game.

    That said, having played MW2 almost daily for several months I’m addicted to BC2 now. I haven’t played the new MW2 maps yet despite buying them on day of release!

    • chasmang April 9, 2010 at 6:53 PM #

      I haven’t played the new maps either. Actually, I hadn’t played MW2 since January until earlier this week since I was kind of turned off by it. I think it was a combination of the ridiculous amount of hype and abuse of kill streaks, but I’m back now, just playing casually.

Leave a Reply

