It Had A Dream

14 Aug

I’ve recently stumbled across a website called GameSpite that I’ve grown to enjoy very much. There’s something different about the crowd there. Being a member of Starmen.Net has spoiled me to the point that I don’t join many other forums with the intent of becoming a regular. I just prefer smaller, more focused communities where your own comments don’t get lost in a sea of lol’s and stfu’s.

So, after spending a few weeks commenting on GameSpite’s Talking Time, I decided I’d seek out the crowd’s advice on my goal of becoming a video game journalist.

They had heard it before. Young college guy likes video games, thinks he can write, wants to get paid to live the “dream”. Don’t quit your day job, kid. Become a “regular” journalist first.

The topic mostly consisted of people urging me not to limit myself to video games since I’d be better off as a “regular” journalist. I’m pretty sure you’ll never find anyone describing themselves as a “regular” journalist, but I understand where these comments are coming from, and I really appreciate the advice.

I got the idea that video game journalism wasn’t the most luxurious living out there, but that was never really my goal to begin with. Yes, it sounds cliche’, but I’m not in this for the money. Maybe everyone feels this way (passionate, ethusiastic, motivated) in the beginning, only to become bitter, regretful, and poor after being trapped in the industry, but I honestly think I’ll enjoy myself (yes, I’m sure most feel that way too when they’re first starting out.)

Anyway, I’m glad I made the topic. The general warnings about living a meager existence were helpful, as were the specific suggestions about my blog and my writing. The best, though, were the few people who seemed to share the same mindset as me; the mindset that my passion for video games will get me through the tough times and reinforce the idea that I’m actually doing something I enjoy for a living, rather than something my parents or my wallet wanted me to do.

The folks at GameSpite have only added fuel to the fire. The fall semester begins this Monday, and I’m excited for that as well. I plan on focusing on both my schoolwork and my writing this semester and will try to get some consistency going with the blog (in frequency and quality.)

Everybody seems to think I’m lazy. I don’t mind, I think they’re crazy.

2 Responses to “It Had A Dream”

  1. Matthew Reynolds January 11, 2009 at 1:27 PM #

    I’m in the same boat, and I’m glad you’re preservering. I’m finding keeping a blog is the best way to keep developing as a writer – keep up the good work. Good luck!

  2. chasmang January 11, 2009 at 4:46 PM #

    Thanks, Matt. 🙂

    I’ll be sure to check out your blog from time to time.

Leave a Reply

