Asses of You, Asses of Me

16 Jun

I haven’t blogged in a while because I haven’t played much in a while. After spending a four day weekend at my dad’s house for Father’s Day, I’m back at my apartment with three free days until he, my brother, and I go to Florida for another four day trip away from home.

While waiting for supper yesterday, my brother and I got into a heated discussion about Metal Gear Solid 4, which he had finished the morning before. I have yet to play it, and it’ll probably be a while before I have the chance to do so, but I’ve been reading up on everything but the spoilers and pointless “news” that the big game blogs tried shoving down our throats over the past few weeks.

The game has received incredible reviews so far with nothing less than an 8 according to Game Rankings. That doesn’t stop rabid fans from swearing off certain sites completely for their “low” scores. It’s the whole Twilight Princess controversy all over again with fans of the series who couldn’t have possibly played the game complaining that the game they can’t wait to love received anything less than the 10 (or 11 according to IGN :P) it deserves.

My brother and I debated back and forth about the game. I’m of the belief that Kojima’s devised a plot that’s complex for the sake of being complex, while my brother seems to believe that the complexity is what makes it so good. I’m actually a fan of complex plots, but in the case of the Metal Gear series, there’s something that doesn’t sit well with me.

Kojima didn’t plan the whole series out before he started making the games. When you create a story without planning for a sequel, you establish several boundaries that you must work within if you want to come back and add on to the story later. When you do plan for a sequel, you can purposely leave loose ends that you plan to tie up elegantly in later entries.

It’s like my previous post on Crisis Core. Final Fantasy VII was created without a prequel in mind. The back story of Zack and his relationships with Aerith and Cloud were established but never really elaborated upon. While there is potential to build upon those unknowns, you really don’t have to do so. As the saying goes, some things are better left to imagination. In this case, Square decided to make up some filler for those blanks. The end result was a terribly presented story that portrays Zack as an annoying douche and Sephiroth and his friends (who never received any mention in VII) as borderline homosexual theater majors who are seemingly incapable of expressing what they really feel while they fly around on single, “symbolic” wings.

Plot aside, I get the feeling MGS4 suffers from the same condition Crisis Core does in that its a movie disguised as a game. I’ll give Kojima some credit since the man is a genius in the industry and has produced some stellar gameplay before, but I’m really becoming more and more aware of cinemas and their misuse as of late.

I’ll end things here to stop myself from assuming too much. I’m sure Guns of the Patriots will be a lot of fun when I finally get to play it. I’m just a bit skeptical. Until then, I’ll keep trudging through Crisis Core.

Leave a Reply

