Having a Fit (pt.2)

26 May

I’ve spent the last few days with Wii Fit. My aching body is proof of that. It’s also proof that Wii Fit works.

After reading what people had to say on blogs and message boards about Nintendo’s latest offering, it’s obvious that the biggest concern people have is that it’s not worth the steep price tag ($90) for something that you can do for free.

Yes, you can exercise for free, but do you?

That’s the difference with Wii Fit, at least for me. I am concerned with my fitness, but anytime I bring myself to start exercising, I can never bring myself to keep it up. This may be a bit preemptive, but to me, Wii Fit offers the motivation to keep me going. That motivation comes from the fun and informative interface.

The trainer shows me how I should be exercising. The Fit Bank keeps track of how long I’ve been at it and rewards me for exercising each day.

Yes, there are problems with Wii Fit.

First, they should give a more thorough explanation of the body mass index (BMI) that it uses. While it’s not a major concern to me since I understand it, Nintendo is getting caught up in a bit of controversy by not explaining the measurements they use. And while they mention that it’s beneficial to warm up before you begin your workout, they fail to elaborate as to how one should warm up. There are other concerns that I initially had, but I’m beginning to understand.

For example, the Fit Age comes off as being ridiculous in the beginning and Nintendo’s lack of explanation hurts itself here again, but I’m beginning to understand. I believe it has to do with the game’s focus on posture that it constantly reiterated when you undergo a body test.

Also, now that I’ve unlocked some of the later exercises, I’m beginning to see an interesting pattern: Wii Fit wants to introduce you to fitness and then slowly ween you off of the balance board and get out on your own. More on that and my take on the Fit Age in my full review.

The biggest complaint I have is one that everyone else seems to have picked up on. I’m not sure why Nintendo failed to implement some sort of custom, or even pre-made, workout routines. It’s a bit of a hassle to go in and out of each exercise. I came up with the idea to use the Favorites section to serve as my routine, but it’ll take me some time to have my favorites recorded the way I want. More on that in my review as well.

I took a break today as it’s Sunday and I’m sore all over. I’m thinking I’ll take a realistic approach and adopt a Monday/Wednesday/Friday routine with some cardio and stretching stuff in between.

It might take a couple weeks for my full review since the game works on a two week goal system, but I also want to wait and see if I make some noticeable changes in my body. Until then, I’ll be focusing on the Ace Attorney series in my posts.

Leave a Reply

